When was slavery abolished?

Not yet, apparently…and that must give us pause. It must give us more than pause. It must pull at whatever strings are connected to our hearts, and if it doesn’t, we must ask ourselves why.

Image

“Slavery still exists. We want every man, woman and child to know that there are 27 million men, women and children, just like them, living in the shadows. Working as slaves. In 161 countries. Including our own. Let’s shine a light on slavery and END IT.” End It, Non-Profit Organization.

For as long as I was online today, I added my voice to those others supporting Shout Out Wednesday. I posted on Facebook quite a few times today, and I wondered if it irritated people, and then it hit me…who cares? Who cares who is annoyed by my posts, if we still have people–27 million at that–without the option of basic human freedom, not to mention any hope of the social media we’re so dependent on? In fact, if there were some way to irritate people into caring, I’d so be on it, but there just isn’t. Whereas I don’t seek to be obnoxious, it makes me wonder what could have gone so wrong with “civilisation” that we can have one set made up of the overindulged, and another made up of…slaves? In the 21st century? Like, really?

I’ll be honest, when I first saw it on my friend’s profile, I was a bit stunned, but I moved on. I didn’t not care, but it didn’t break my heart. Does it have to break our hearts? Not necessarily. Does that make (our) indifference appropriate? By no means.

We don’t have to care to use the oh-so-abused “Share” button. We don’t have to care to add our voices in any way we can. We don’t have to care. At all. But, maybe that’s why we still don’t have an answer for the question I asked above: “When was slavery abolished?”

Then again, maybe we have more answers than we care to think about. 27 million of them.

He has shown you, O man, what is good;
And what does the Lord require of you
But to do justly,
To love mercy,
And to walk humbly with your God?

Micah 6:8 (NKJV)

The Holy Bible, New King James Version Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc.

